ballet to the music by Gioacchino Rossini

About Performance

Parallel to attending secondary Ballet School “Lujo Davičo” he studied painting at the Department of Conservation and Restoration in Pedagogic Academy in Belgrade. He had his debut in the National Theatre in Belgrade in the performance Darinka’s Gift and gradually he took over leading male roles in classic and contemporary repertoire. Since 1988 he has been engaged in choreography. Specific sense of forming characters and strong scenic expression enabled him to create numerous important roles, which he presented alone or with ballet companies of the National Theatre in Belgrade and Serbian National Theatre in Novi Sad, in all significant theatres in the country and abroad: Franz (Coppelia), Per Gynt (Per Gynt), Puck (A Midsummer Night’s Dream), Samson (Samson and Delilah), Slave (Scheherazade), Djuraško (Elisabeth), Alexis Zorbas (Zorba the Greek). For the National Theatre in Belgrade he staged the ballet The Penitent (S. Šepić) in 1988 and Queen Margot in 2005. In the Serbian National Theatre in Novi Sad he staged the following ballets: Pieta (E. Morricone) 1988, King’s Autumn (Bošnjak) 1992, Zorba the Greek (M. Theodorakis) 1994 and The Lady of the Camellias in 2009. In the Madlenianum Chamber Opera he staged the ballets: Orpheus in the Underworld in 1999 and Nijinsky – L’oisseau d’or in 2001. He also did choreography for dramas Koštana and The Three Musketeers; and for the Theatre “T”, he staged the musical The Gypsies Fly to Heaven (2004); and TV productions of the ballets Tesla in 2003 and Hamlet in 2004. He was a member of the juries at the first Competition of Choreographic Miniatures in Belgrade in 1997 and for the “Dimitrije Parlić” Award in 2000. For his achievement as a dancer he got the award of the Ballet Festival in Ljubljana (1988, Per Gynt), and four Annual Awards of the National Theatre in Belgrade. As a choreographer he won the Golden Plaque at the International Competition of Choreographers in Novi Sad (1988, Pieta), Annual Award of the National Theatre in Belgrade (1991, The Penitent), Annual Awards of the Serbian National Theatre in Novi Sad (1992, King’s Autumn and 1994, Zorbas the Greek), and greatest of all in the field of the art of ballet awarded by the Association of the Ballet Artists of Serbia, the “Dimitrije Parlić” Award for the performance Orpheus in the Underworld in 1999.

Premiere performance

Premiere 25. June 2009 / Main Stage

Ballet in two acts, 6 scenes

Book After the play of William Shakespeare made by K. Simić
Choreography, Direction Krunislav Simić
Music Gioachino Rossini (selection K. Simić)
Conductor Johannes Harneit
Sets Geroslav Zarić
Costumes Katarina Grčić
Choreographer Assistant Gordana Simić